Lots is going on. I have decided to have VSG (Vertical Sleeve Gastrectomy) later this year. It is a type of weight loss surgery. It is similar to the gastric bypass, but doesn’t affect the colon. It leaves you with a very reduced stomach, and people lose weight quickly with it. It doesn’t fix everything, but it is a powerful tool. I know that people have strong opinions about surgery, but I will request that people do not tell me their horror stories. All surgeries involve risk, but the risk of weighing close to 400 pounds is greater.

You have to do all sorts of things to qualify for surgery. My insurance carrier requires six months of medically supervised weight loss. I have been going to Weight Watchers, which I will continue to do. (I don’t know if WW will kick me out after my surgery.) I have had the first two of six required monthly visits with the surgeon. I have had oceans of blood drawn. I met with a nutritionist and had a psych eval. (Both of these people were lovely, and I was pleasantly surprised.)

I am expected to change the way I eat before surgery. This means I have moved to a South Beach style diet. It’s a huge change for me. I had to open my mind to the kinds of things I like to eat. Most meals are protein and vegetables. I’ve been using some of the Hungry Girl recipes, which are really nice low calorie meals. I am eating meat. I am not thrilled about that. But I’m really tired of dragging this huge body around, and I’m willing to do what it takes.

I am also required to begin exercising daily, which I suck at. I am working on it. Tomorrow is the WW 5K Walk-It Challenge at the Emeryville Marina. Hubby is walking it with me, and I am looking forward to it.

Here is a great recipe that I tried tonight. We liked it a lot. http://www.cookingchanneltv.com/recipes/lisa-lillien/pizza-fied-chicken-recipe/index.html

