I’ve been watching a lot of 30 Rock on Netflix lately, and I love it when Tina Fey is beguiled by food and says “I want to go to there!”

Anywho, I just finished this book: http://www.amazon.com/21-Day-Weight-Loss-Kickstart-Dramatically/dp/0446583812/ref=sr_1_3?ie=UTF8&qid=1298702716&sr=8-3

Anyone who knows me knows that I have tried to “be vegan” so many times. I have cooked hundreds of vegan meals and loved them. But I always slip back to my old ways. It hurt me emotionally when I slip.

Today was day 1 of the 21 day kickstart for me. Dr. Barnard really breaks it down and makes it simple. For 21 days, eat a plant-based diet, and limit your fats. Don’t make yourself crazy. Each day has a daily reading that is helpful and keeps you on the right track. For me, it is just the right level of cheerleading.

So what did I eat today?

Breakfast was a pumpernickel bagel, toasted, plain (which was surprisingly delicious), coffee and soy milk. I picked out a banana but didn’t have time to eat it.

Lunch was two falafel patties, hummus, pita, greek salad with cucumbers and tomatoes, one dolma. Mixed fruit with grapes and melon.

Dinner was a bean and rice burrito with guacamole. This actually put me over the top of the calories I usually shoot for, but I never achieve that anyway, I usually go way over. I gave myself the gift of not eating sugar (aka grazing all day on sugar and feeling sick). I drank lots of water and seltzer, no diet coke. The diet coke thing does get challenging for me.

This is what I am doing for the next 21 days. I’m excited to see how it goes, and I’ll decide what to do when it’s over.

Thanks for reading!

Jenni

